Making Mistakes

So, like most people who go into Communication Disorders, like most of my graduate school class, and probably most of my colleagues, I am a bit of a Type A personality.  I do not like to make mistakes.  Even more than not liking to make them, I really hate to admit them and have to tell other people about them.  Who does?

And recently, I made one.  Kind of a big one.  It was something I probably could have ignored, and it may not have come up again.  But I would have felt guilty.  So I called my supervisor, and we dealt with it.  As I lamented the fact that now I had made a mistake and felt horrible about it, Phil of Project SLP said something to me on Twitter that made a lot of sense–He said that your Clinical Fellowship Year is “all about having a safe place to make mistakes.”

And as much as I hate it, he’s right.  I am still a newbie.  As much as I’d like to be a completely competent professional, that takes time.  And is why there is a Clinical Fellowship Year.  As ASHA states, a Clinical Fellowship Year is “a transition between being a student and being an independent provider of clinical services…”

So instead of beating myself up and feeling guilty, I am choosing to take this incident, learn from it, and move on.  To hopefully being a more competent, independent practitioner.  And if (when) I do mess up again, I know who to go to.  Phil is the best encourager.

3 thoughts on “Making Mistakes

  1. I hate to burst your bubble…but even when you are no longer in your CFY, you will… undoubtedly…still make a few mistakes. Will they be big? Hopefully not…but, that’s how we continue to learn, to grow, and to make ourselves better clinicians. We don’t have to like it though 🙂

  2. I don’t think I’ll ever like it. But I hear you. 🙂 I think it’s also hard for me because I am older, entering a second career…so I feel like in some ways I should be “older and wiser” and yet I’m still a baby in the field of SLP. OH, and I just generally hate being wrong. 😉

  3. This has made me feel a teeny weeny bit braver for my next clinical placement – I am so the same! But my fear of mistakes always transpires as shyness and I am anything but shy! Gotta face that fear of messing up or being wrong.. So much easier said than done 😉

Leave a Reply

